Amazon Alexa Tablet 8 vs 11 vs 12 Pro: Which One Should You Buy (and Is It Better Than an iPad?)
Amazon Alexa Tablet 8, 11 and 12 Pro compared: prices, specs, ads, price-per-feature, who should buy which, and how they stack up against the iPad.

If you want the cheapest way into Amazon's new tablets, the Amazon Alexa Tablet 8 at $229.99 is it. If you want the best all-rounder for a family sofa, buy the Amazon Alexa Tablet 11 at $329.99. Only buy the Amazon Alexa Tablet 12 Pro ($499.99 and up) if you'll actually use the keyboard and pen; otherwise an iPad is still the safer bet at that money.
That's the short version. The longer version matters, because these are not Fire tablets with a new sticker. They run full Android with the Google Play Store, they cost a lot more than Fire ever did, and they shipped in the US, Canada and Mexico on 14 October 2026, with the UK, Germany, France, Italy and Spain following today, 19 October.
What is the Amazon Alexa Tablet?
The Amazon Alexa Tablet is Amazon's new tablet family, announced on 8 October 2026. There are three models: the Alexa Tablet 8, the Alexa Tablet 11 and the Alexa Tablet 12 Pro. All three have aluminium bodies, run Android with full Google Play access, and come with Alexa+ built in. You can say "Alexa" or tap an on-screen button to start it.
An Amazon spokesperson told TechCrunch the line is "an all-new product line with new hardware and a new OS, rather than a rebrand of Fire Tablets." If you're a Fire owner wondering what this means for your device, we've covered that separately in Is the Amazon Fire tablet discontinued?.
The wider launch context is in our roundup of Amazon's new devices for 2026.
Amazon Alexa Tablet 8 vs 11 vs 12 Pro: specs side by side
US prices and specs below come from Amazon's announcement, with chip names and storage options from AFTVNews, which pulled them from Amazon's developer spec pages.
| Alexa Tablet 8 | Alexa Tablet 11 | Alexa Tablet 12 Pro | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Starting price (US) | $229.99 | $329.99 | $499.99 |
| Screen | 8.7-inch | 11-inch 2.5K, 276 PPI, 90Hz, 16:10 | 12-inch, 280 PPI, 120Hz, 3:2 |
| Chip | MediaTek MT8189 (8-core) | MediaTek MT8189 (8-core) | MediaTek MT8793N (8-core, 4nm) |
| RAM / storage | 4GB/64GB or 8GB/128GB | 8GB, 64GB or 128GB | 8GB/128GB or 16GB/256GB |
| Battery (video) | Up to 14 hours | Up to 15 hours | Up to 16 hours |
| Speakers | Not specified | Dual Dolby Atmos | Quad Dolby Atmos |
| Wi-Fi | Wi-Fi 6 | Not specified | Wi-Fi 6E |
| Weight / thickness | 329g, 7.95mm | Not stated | 6.5mm, weight not stated |
| Colours | Graphite, Rosette, Teal | Graphite, Amethyst, Matcha | Graphite |
| Lock-screen ads | Yes (remove for $20) | Yes (remove for $20) | No |
| Pen / keyboard | No | No | Pro Pen $89.99, Pro Keyboard $149.99 |
Two things in that table deserve a highlight. First, the 8 and 11 share the same chip, so the 11 isn't faster; you're paying for the bigger, sharper 90Hz screen, better speakers and an extra hour of battery. Second, the 12 Pro is the only model with no lock-screen ads at any price. On the 8 and 11, the advertised price includes "special offers", and removing them costs $20 more, per AFTVNews.
The 12 Pro also comes in a Nanomatte anti-glare version at $549.99, and AFTVNews lists a top Nanomatte 256GB/16GB model at $679.99.
Amazon Alexa Tablet price per feature: what you're really paying for
Here's an angle you won't find on the spec sheet. Take the cheapest ad-free version of each tablet and ask what each extra dollar buys.
| Step up | Extra cost (ad-free, US) | What you get |
|---|---|---|
| Tablet 8 ($249.99 ad-free) to Tablet 11 ($349.99 ad-free) | $100 | 2.3 inches more screen, 90Hz, 2.5K resolution, double the RAM, dual Atmos speakers, +1 hour battery |
| Tablet 11 ($349.99 ad-free) to 12 Pro ($499.99) | $150 | 120Hz, 3:2 screen, a much faster chip (Amazon claims nearly 3x CPU and 9x graphics vs its earlier tablets), quad speakers, Wi-Fi 6E, pen and keyboard support |
| 12 Pro + Pro Keyboard + Pro Pen | $739.97 total | A laptop-style setup |
Ad-free prices are worked out from the $20 removal fee AFTVNews reports. Check the live Amazon listing before buying, because these can change.
In the editor's view, the 8-to-11 jump is the best value in the range. A hundred dollars for a much nicer screen and double the memory is a fair deal. The 11-to-12 Pro jump makes sense only if you need the speed or the accessories.
Which Amazon Alexa Tablet should YOU buy?
Find your situation below.
- "I read, watch Prime Video and scroll in bed." Get the Alexa Tablet 8. It weighs just 329g, and Amazon says the new Kindle reading mode can stretch to up to 20 hours of reading on a charge (Amazon doesn't say which model that figure is for).
- "It's the family tablet that lives on the sofa." Get the Alexa Tablet 11. The 90Hz 2.5K screen and dual speakers are what a shared tablet needs, and the 8GB of RAM should handle a few apps at once.
- "I'm buying for a child." Look at the Amazon Kids Tablets, which come in 8.7-inch and 11-inch sizes and bundle a kid-proof case plus a year of Amazon Kids+. Amazon hasn't published separate prices in its announcement, so check the listing.
- "I want it to replace my laptop for email and documents." The Alexa Tablet 12 Pro with the Pro Keyboard is the only one designed for that.
- "I draw or take handwritten notes." Only the 12 Pro supports the Pro Pen (USI 2.0, 4,096 pressure levels). If you mostly want notes and reading, a Kindle Scribe may suit you better; see our Kindle buying guide.
- "I just want the cheapest tablet possible." None of these. Clearance Fire tablets are still on sale while stocks last. Gizmodo spotted the Fire HD 10 at $73 this week.
Is the Amazon Alexa Tablet better than an iPad?
This is the question most readers are really asking, so here's a straight answer.
The Alexa Tablet narrows the gap far more than any Fire tablet did. Running full Android with Google Play means Gmail, Chrome, YouTube and the rest work properly, without sideloading. That was the single biggest reason people used to tell friends to skip Fire tablets.
Where an iPad still wins, in the editor's view:
- Track record on updates. Apple's long iPad support is proven. Amazon's Android update promise for these tablets is not yet clear. In the comments under AFTVNews' launch post, one reader, Mike L., argued Amazon should commit to at least five years of updates at these prices. We'd agree.
- Tablet apps. Android's library of apps optimised for large screens is still smaller than the iPad's.
- Resale value. iPads hold their value. Amazon tablets historically haven't.
Where the Alexa Tablet wins:
- Alexa+ built in. If you already live in Amazon's world (Prime Video, Kindle, Audible, Echo, Ring), it's all integrated. Our Alexa+ explainer covers what Alexa+ can do and what it costs.
- Kindle reading mode. It's a real advantage if you read a lot on a tablet.
- Matte screen option. The 12 Pro Nanomatte, which Amazon developed with Corning, according to The Next Web, is unusual at this price.
Our decision rule: if you're already on an iPhone, buy an iPad. If you're on Android and use Prime heavily, the Alexa Tablet 11 is the one to look at. Check Apple's current local prices before deciding, since they vary by market.
What nobody is telling you about the Amazon Alexa Tablet
The cheap Amazon tablet is gone. The Fire HD 8 used to cost $129, and even the Fire Max 11 topped out around $230, per CNBC. The cheapest Alexa Tablet now costs what the most expensive Fire tablet did. Amazon told CNBC memory costs weren't behind the pricing.
There's no microSD slot. Fire tablets had one. One AFTVNews commenter, Dennis, called this out straight away. If you download lots of Prime Video for flights, think about the 128GB model.
Ads are still part of the deal on the 8 and 11. Another AFTVNews commenter, Dave, put it bluntly: "Amazon really loves its ad ecosystem."
On-Screen Intelligence is off by default. This is the Alexa+ feature that can see what's on your screen, and you have to opt in. That's the right default, and worth knowing before you switch it on.
We searched for Reddit reaction (r/amazonfire, r/alexa) but couldn't load threads reliably at the time of writing. The main questions readers are asking are the ones above: how long updates last, whether the ads are worth $20 to remove, and whether a clearance Fire is the smarter buy for now.
Amazon Alexa Tablet availability: US, UK and Europe
- US, Canada, Mexico: shipping since 14 October 2026. Sold on Amazon and at retailers including Best Buy and Target, per Amazon.
- UK, Germany, France, Italy, Spain: shipping from 19 October 2026.
- Kids Tablets: Amazon also says they ship in Japan from 14 October.
We haven't confirmed final UK (£) or euro prices from Amazon's local stores. Don't assume a straight dollar conversion, because European prices include VAT. Check Amazon.co.uk or Amazon.de for the live price.
If you're building an Alexa home around the tablet, our Echo buying guide explains which speaker pairs best with it. And if your Kindle needs replacing too, here's what changed with the Kindle Colorsoft 2026.
FAQ
What is the difference between the Amazon Alexa Tablet 8 and 11?
The 11 has a bigger 11-inch 2.5K 90Hz screen, 8GB of RAM as standard, dual Dolby Atmos speakers and up to 15 hours of video, and it costs $100 more ($329.99 vs $229.99). Both use the same MediaTek MT8189 chip.
How much is the Amazon Alexa Tablet 12 Pro?
It starts at $499.99 (8GB RAM, 128GB). The Nanomatte anti-glare version is $549.99, and AFTVNews lists the top 256GB/16GB Nanomatte at $679.99. The keyboard is $149.99 and the pen is $89.99.
Does the Amazon Alexa Tablet have Google Play?
Yes. All three models run Android with full Google Play Store access, unlike Fire tablets, which used the Amazon Appstore.
Is the Amazon Alexa Tablet available in the UK?
Yes, it ships in the UK, Germany, France, Italy and Spain from 19 October 2026. Check Amazon.co.uk for local pricing.
Is the Amazon Alexa Tablet better than an iPad?
It's the closest Amazon has come. If you're on Android and use Prime a lot, it makes sense. If you're on an iPhone, or want proven long-term updates, the iPad is still the safer choice.
Do Amazon Alexa Tablets have ads?
The 8 and 11 show lock-screen ads by default, and removing them costs $20, according to AFTVNews. The 12 Pro has no lock-screen ads.
Does the Amazon Alexa Tablet have a microSD card slot?
No microSD slot is listed for these tablets. That's a change from Fire tablets, so choose your storage carefully.
Is there a kids version of the Amazon Alexa Tablet?
Yes. Amazon Kids Tablets come in 8.7-inch and 11-inch sizes, with a protective case and one year of Amazon Kids+.
Sources
- Amazon: New Amazon Alexa Tablets with Alexa+
- TechCrunch: Amazon unveils new Alexa Tablets with Alexa+ and Google Play Store access
- AFTVNews: Amazon announces Alexa Tablets running full Android with the Google Play Store
- The Next Web: Amazon replaces Fire tablets with Android Alexa Tablets from $229.99
- Hoodline (citing CNBC): Amazon Alexa Tablets replace Fire line, prices jump
- Gizmodo: Fire HD 10 at 53% off
Featured image: Amazon. Source